The Insect Science Pro Mountain Bike Team was established in 2017 by the owner of Insect Science, Gerhard Booysen. Inspired by his passion for the sport, the professional mountain biking team was born. 

Gerhard’s vision was to create a relationship-oriented team that allows self-motivated athletes to focus on developing themselves to the best of their abilities, without the pressures that are typically associated with the title of ‘pro’. The team currently consists of pro riders Alan Gordon, CP Van Wyk and Keagan Bontekoning. Together, the pro team has been dubbed the Kings of Neon. They are joined by team riders Thomas Orchard, Sydney Swart and Gerhard himself.

In addition to sponsoring a team of riders, Insect Science is also the headline sponsor of the popular annual Magoeba Trek three-day mountain bike stage race, held in Haenertsburg, Limpopo. The company also took over the sponsorship for the former Magoebaskloof MTB Classic in 2019, renaming it the Insect Science Classic.

The Insect Science team has shown that they are a force to be reckoned with, growing from strength to strength and doing the Insect Science brand proud with their professionalism, on and off the bike. They have competed in some of the toughest and most renowned races locally and internationally, and their results show that they are indeed a force to be reckoned with. The riders continually add invaluable experience and strength to the team, across a variety of different cycling disciplines. Their aim is to become one of the most renowned mountain bike teams in South Africa.